even in love, fears can run deep

image

I realized today

with some kind of astonishment

that I fear being asked more of

than I am comfortable giving

then I realized

if the years have taught me anything at all

it is simply that

I know, you haven’t, you won’t ask

anything more of me than I am comfortable giving

and I relax a little more into the great unknown

Cut the ground out from under the world

image

You walk across the street and you bring the sun

You wear confidence these days

and it has been a long hard climb over the years

you spin out…and get it, for the first time

and you realize you never got it before

because you were not ready to work this hard ever before

you laugh a lot, smile more

and wonder for the millionth time

where this is going

and how life, and love will surprise you yet again

you don’t sensor yourself

you don’t have to tone it down

and you have left worry behind

you cut the ground out from under the world today

things that used to sink beneath your skin and linger, don’t anymore

and you feel fine.