Fall food memories

5767072E-7407-45E6-B5A0-BD1D419480D1

The rain is coming down outside

fall is most certainly here

I am cooking foods that I haven’t had in years…

apple pie baked with cristco by the taste of it,

while I do my spin workout –

pirogies,

pushing them around in the frying pan

stare at the bubbling in the heat

thinking back years…

Don’t say much

it will stay that way.

There is a line I’ve drawn in the sand.

No excuse not to get vaccinated

and I guess I always knew

we never were a good fit

just check boxes

superficial fun for a while

skin deep

doing things, taking up time

healing a little perhaps

but the truth is

what I never want to tell you,

this never was any kind of love affair

just something much less.

The ease that comes in a second the other day

seeing the fire burning as I walked in

dachshund relaxing on the workman’s blanket spread out there,

now that feels more like home than anything ever has

and it scares me to death.

How it is, just what we do,

simple things

and how easy it is to fall…

now I’m just in this state I don’t want to be in.

Seeing how what looks good and what feels right are two dramatically different things.

I’m not an open book you can riffle through

just cold hard truths spread out there.

There is nothing magic

and no perfect fit

in life

hearts of glass…

The steady hand I got used to.

3F063090-1CB0-48F5-9266-DB0E103ADF5A

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.