Summer and our history

0D23BA8F-9801-415C-B865-403D7D5D915D.jpeg

I find you sitting in the garden

walk the dog

chat a bit

Massage your head as you sit in your outdoor summer chair

for a moment I am wistful

for everything we have ever been.

Yet we are not who we were once

to one another.

I can say for sure

I am passionately devoted to you

though we cycle through

this dance of not speaking or seeing on another

for months

to pick up on the dance floor

exactly where we left off last.

Let’s be real

we have changed

we have a relationship that is

all manner of things I will never completely understand

a war between the chemistry

and life history

full of broken trust.

What a tale our thoughts could tell my love

so it is back to the tango we do

and passionate it is that anger, the verbal shots

the laughter, the being there when things really matter.

I hate most that I have this sense we could pick up

exactly where we left off

pick it up and let it fall

pick it up and let it break

over and over

like shattered glass.