Painful recovery road

I cry just about

every day.

I can’t go back

to what I used to do

doing see the point of keeping end stage dementia patients alive

i hate

the moral injuries and moral distress caused

by

the terminal agitation and restlessness

getting kicked, hit, never mind the endless verbal abuse.

the team i used to run

turned on me

in their pain, exhaustion and dee in their own burnout.

new bosses have less experience than i,

insecure,

Power hungry and will

strike me down

as i will inevitably only

make them feel weak and the weight of their inexperience

will be rushing them…never mind their own stress levels high

struggling to learn a new job,

losing their grip.

I feel worthless,

having spent 9 years in the lowest seen skilled area of practice there is,

not an asset,

no experience worth much of anything

as i try to beg my way into to jobs

further up the food chain

and everything I have done

to any manager

is weak not strong,

rusty skills,

and my burnout, anxiety, depression

leave my cover letters probably less than crisp

and my interviews…that i cry in

scream

that I will only falter soon

Be a disaster to hire

no matter how

short staffed and in dire need of nurses they are

i am not

what they seek…

Perhaps i do need to take this time

do nothing

find a life out beyond what i used to do

find out who I am beyond making money

again

or perhaps for the first time in my life

just Do things for me

because

i have spent my teens, twenties, thirties most gone now

chasing

the medical field

striving for every opportunity

working far too hard

to get

where

others arrived with ease.

and i am tired

tired of working of hard

of always feeling anxious, afraid, never good enough

so maybe it is time to give up

give in

burn through the money i saved

and sink

because treading water

let alone swimming

is too much work anymore

to not feel wanted, appreciated, or ever told I did well

in that job

i tired so very hard to be so good at

4EE55B8D-DD71-45ED-A712-0D1C092FBA21

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.