Help me out here…

I seem to be

walking away

from triggers

walking away from people

who trigger me

make me angry.

I seem to be

finding a way

Feet carrying me on warm summer nights

now

over new terrain

exploring new places

cool shady trees

and different water features,

thoughts – none,

only peace

I will always love you for what is worth

273575FD-C8AE-42E7-8A99-315983639FC9

Who I used to be – she died back at the end of May.

————-

Sometimes 

it is just too much

and I cry.

Sometimes 

it is just too much

and I get angry.

but for a moment today

when the dental office assistant 

walked out

without making my next appointment or letting me pay

saying i she would call me tomorrow 

I just stood there…

then followed her out

to the hot street

in the summer evening

thinking how

we are all broken

how professionalism

has disappeared

and

startling myself

by not caring too much

proving only

to myself

that I am indeed changing 

that I have indeed 

Become someone else

I just don’t know

how this new version of me

will earn a living

yet.

sometimes I am frightened 

by I am already on the path

already walking

already learning

how to be someone

I cannot define

but I am sure

she is a less 

traumatized 

less damaged

less anxious or insecure

Less cruel

less cutting or cold

version of me

David Gray – My Oh My Lyrics

What on earth is going on in my heart
As it turns as cold as stone?
Seems these days I don’t feel anything
‘Less it cuts me right down to the bone
What on earth is going on in my heart?
‘Cause my oh my, you know it just don’t stop
It’s in my mind I want to tear it up
Been trying to fight it, trying to turn it off
But it’s not enough
It takes a lot of love
It takes a lot of love my friend
To keep your heart from freezing
To push until the end
My oh my
What on earth is going on in my head?
You know I used to be so sure
You know I used to be so definite
Thought I knew what love was for
I look around these days
I’m not so sure
No no no
My oh my you know it just don’t stop
It’s in my mind, I want to tear it up
Been trying to fight it, trying to turn it off
But it’s not enough
It takes a lot of love
It takes a lot of love my friend
To keep your heart from freezing
To push until the end
My oh my you know I just can’t win
I burn it down it comes right back again
What kind of world is this we’re living in
Where you never win?
It takes a lot of love
It takes a lot of love these days
To keep your heart from freezing
To keep your spirit free
Oh
My oh my
My oh my you know, it just don’t stop
It’s in my mind I want to tear it up
Been trying to fight it, trying to turn it off
But it’s not enough
It takes a lot of love
It takes a lot of love my friend
To keep your heart from freezing
To push on until the end

Sifting through broken pieces

the only way is through

no matter how hard,

how painful

how much time it takes…

Trying to find where the anger all started.

Trying to find a way to get free of it.

Thinking how

past

lived experiences shaped me

to become

who I am

how I act, react, what I expect and all I learned not to.

Champion of the underdogs

always trying to find ways to lift others up

because

I know how it is

to be at the bottom

tired and fighting against the overwhelming, the insurmountable

at least without help.

Perhaps my up bringing

as I sift through

what I find soothing

laying on the shop couch evenings

watching him work

fixing something, always…

is somehow soothing

and what makes me so darn angry

I can’t stand to look at it

or go off on an angry rant about something.

Soothingly familiar pieces

the jagged edged ones

the wreckages broken beyond repair

trying to let it all go.

These days I can’t stand demands of others on my time

hate being pinned down,

stare at what is falling apart

angry only that we kept and keep alive

so long

so woefully unmanaged

The terminally restless, agitated dementia patients

or the brain injury ones

or the ones that have such severe mental health issues

they are violent, chaotic, dangerous to have to deal with.

Yet we did

every shift

and I

don’t know how

I did that

got hardened by the abuse

developed thick skin, a tough outer shell

protection against

years

of onslaught.

How could I not?

did it to survive.

but the anger these days

that stays

that runs deeper still

Back to a time

I had no recourse, no justice, just as now,

and back then I had no protection

was soft, anxious, young, insecure,

so vulnerable

and got wrecked by it

sinking

while struggling to learn

how to swim

how to endure

how to play the game

the rules constantly changing,

the games stacking one after another on top of each other

coming in so hard and fast

hitting before you barely draw the next breath.

Now is time to learn to breathe,

to be free,

to stay suspended

weightless

taking stock.

waiting for the next thing

having no idea what that will be